Il video di “Straight Path” / “Future is a Shadow Line”, dall’album “Wasteland” (Shove / Brigante / Mothership Records).

Il video di “Straight Path” / “Future is a Shadow Line”, dall’album “Wasteland” (Shove / Brigante / Mothership Records).

No Echo is hosting the premiere of “Straight Path” / “Future is a Shadow Line”, the new video by Italian noise / post hardcore act NORTHWOODS; the track hailing from the band’s “Wasteland” debut LP, out now via Shove, Brigante and Mothership Records.

“Wasteland” premiered on Cvlt Nation, while the single “City 40” was first released via heavily trafficked portal Echoes and Dust.

A reflection of the band’s diverse background, “Wasteland” draws influence as much from the frenzied and chaotic sound of Converge, Botch and Swedish cult band Breach, as it does the fury and melody of noise rock in the vein of Unsane. “Wasteland” brings something original to the table with a sound that is at once aggressive and honest.

Lyrically the album revolves around the denial of promises for a better future, taking inspiration by the closed cities that once existed in the old Soviet Union, where a very high standard of living came at a price of radioactive contamination. A song such as “Future is a Shadow Line” is based on a quote by Polish/British writer Conrad, who once described the last strip of land visible from the sea – the shadow line – as a metaphor for the future.

NORTHWOODS recorded “Wasteland” in the winter of early 2018 at Cinquequarti Music Studio under the watchful production of Lorenzo Amato. The cover displays a rare photograph licensed by NASA.

01. Ground Zero
02. Moebius
03. City 40
04. Asylum
05. Strength Path
06. Future is a Shadow Line
07. Detachment
08. The Witness

Alvaro Diamanti – Vocals, Guitars
Federico Mazzoli – Bass
Andrea Gentili – Drums

NORTHWOODS was first brought together in 2015, by a group of veterans of the Italian underground scene. The members of the band aimed to create something original – fierce, beautiful and honest, in order to contribute back to the pantheon of the great and timeless music that shaped the Italian hardcore scene. Their self-titled debut EP was released in 2016 and soon after the band began what would grow be substantial touring of the material with a strong and memorable live set.